It’s official we’re running the San Diego Marathon

Went to the Chicago Marathon’s Expo this past Saturday (in Chicago to watch our friend run the marathon… he did great, by the way) and while we were there we (my husband and I) signed up to run for the 2009 San Diego Marathon.  YIKES!  I mean… YAY!

Granted I knew we were planning on running the San Diego marathon, but now that we’ve officially signed up, we are truly committed to doing this again.  I think I better find my inner strength and get committed to this thing.  And I don’t mean committed as in signing up to run.  But committed as in getting my attitude adjusted to the point where running 500 miles in preparation sounds like a good idea.

So, what can I do to help me mentally prepare for this?  I’m opening it up for discussion.  I’m at a loss.  I tried to remember how much better I looked after I trained for the last marathon.  But then I remembered that I didn’t look better because I had actually gained weight while in training.  Then I tried to remember how much better I felt from all of the running.  But yet, that wasn’t exactly true because I was a hobbling, couldn’t-walk-up-or-down-steps-without-being-in-pain, mess.  I tried to mentally recreate the enthusiasm and excitement about getting to do something that very few other people can do.  But then again, since I’m not a leader, I’m much more of a follower; that’s not going to be enough to get me out the door.  So, if you have any thoughts, please let me know.  I’ll take them into consideration, sleep on them for a bit and let you know what I think.  If someone actually comes up with something so motivating that it makes me want to “Run Forrest Run”… I’ll give you a shout out and a pat on the back.  (How’s that for motivation?  That’s why I’m having a hard time coming up with my own!)

So, please put your thinking caps on and get this girl some motivation!

Leave a Reply

