Familiar run

Went running with the husband and dog last night.  It was a good run and it was very familiar.  It’s getting dark outside and it’s getting cooler outside too.  We did a 4-miler on the trail and it was like a lot of our runs leading up to the marathon (minus the snow).  I was chit-chatting away and gave myself a side ache… like I said, familiar!  Unfortunately what else was familiar was the IT/knee pain I’d had during much of my training for the 07 marathon.  To say I’m internally freaking out is to put it mildly.  I can’t imagine training again and running in that kind of pain.  And the fact that I have the pain now, scares the hell out of me.  How and why do I have it now?  It’s sure not from over use or too much running.  I checked, and last night’s run was only the 4th run in all of October.  Well, that’s just crazy.  I mean, once training starts I’ll be running 5 days a WEEK.  So, I sure as hell better be able to run more than 4 times a month without pain.

So, I am going into unchartered territory (not the kind they eluded to on Grey’s Anatomy last night) to see if I can fix this (or at least make it a bit better) problem before training starts.  I made an appointment to see a chiropractor.  This kind of scares me.  The thought of someone “cracking me” makes me shiver.  Granted I like it when the hubby cracks my back, but other than that, it scares me a bit. But what really scares me, scares me way more than someone cracking my body parts, is the thought of it not helping.  What in the world will I do then?   That’s a scary thought!

So, wish me luck and I’ll let you know how it goes on Monday.  I say, if the chiropractor can help take away my pain… crack away!  If it works I’ll be adopting the Anti-Whitney Houston motto of “crack IS NOT whack”!

Leave a Reply

