20 miles tomorrow

Here’s the deal.  I’m going to let you in on a little known fact but I’m willing to spill the beans.  Are you ready?  Here it comes.  Here’s the truth…

It’s hard to get psyched for a 20 mile run.  I know you’re all probably pretty shocked right now by this revelation, but it’s true.  I’m not sure how others do it.  But I know I’m struggling.  It’s not the first time I’ve ever run 2o miles, so I can’t use the anticipation to get me excited.  I mean it’s sooooooo LLLLOOONNNGGGG.  I’m going to be running forever.  And that’s not a bad thing if it’s the actual race but this isn’t.  This is just another Saturday in the training regimen.  Plus it’s a busy weekend and running for over 3 1/2 hours isn’t fitting into my schedule.  Not to mention that I have to start preparing for a run that long today.  And I’d much rather make a night of it tonight since we are having company at our house.  Instead I told our guest she had to pack a book because she’d be entertaining herself after an early “lights out” call.  (And she’ll also be entertaining herself tomorrow morning while we’re running and running and running and running and running.  I guess she could also help clean my house.  That wouldn’t be too boring.)

So, basically the point of this post…. I don’t want to run tomorrow.  How’s that for a definite lack of motivation?!  Anyone got any tips on how to make me more excited about running the entire length of Green Bay (and then some) and back again?  If so, please share!!

And on that note… I think I may take a quick nap over lunch!

One response to “20 miles tomorrow

Leave a Reply

