Perhaps I’m the next Farmer’s Almanac

Where do I start?

Perhaps I should start with the fact that it’s hard as hell to run in the snow, ice and cold.  Perhaps, I should start by mentioning that the last 2 times I trained for a full marathon we had record-breaking snow totals.  And when I say record-breaking, I mean record-breaking.  We are talking in the top 3 or 4 of the SNOWIEST WINTERS ON RECORD!  Perhaps, I should mention that we are now 3 days into the 2011 spring season and we just got 17.3 inches of fresh snow! Perhaps, I should mention the 40 mph wind gusts that accompanied the 17.3 inches of snow and the layer of ice that covers all of the roadways that is sitting below the 17.3 inches of snow.  Perhaps, I should mention that my nice spring run I did last night was done in sleet.  Perhaps I should mention that sleet on the face feels like someone is throwing mini rocks at me. Perhaps, I should mention that we are currently sitting on the 6th snowiest winter ever and the FIRST ever to have 3 snow storms that produced 10 inches or more of snow.

So, what’s the point of this post?  Perhaps to point out how much of a beeyotch Mother Nature is.  Perhaps to get a little sympathy from anyone not currently training in the 6th snowiest winter ever.  Perhaps it’s to go on the record that my full marathon training is a better predictor/indicator that we’re going to have one hell of a snowy winter than any almanac or meteorologist can predict.  Perhaps it’s to waste time as I watch my husband snow blow the driveway again as I enjoy an adult beverage because I’ve declared a snow day in spring and that means… no training run for me!

Until next time… gotta run.

(Or gotta shuffle along carefully due to ice and 17+ inches of freakin’ snow!)

3 responses to “Perhaps I’m the next Farmer’s Almanac

  1. Here’s an update, courtesy of the Green Bay Press Gazette, on the snow totals and records we broke…
    +++++++++++++
    A record-setting two-day spring storm — the biggest in more than a century — left Green Bay with 17.8 inches of snow by late Wednesday evening.

    The heavy, wet snow ended about 7 p.m. Wednesday..

    Mostly sunny skies are expected today, Friday and well into next week. But don’t expect a quick melt-off, because daytime high temperatures should remain below freezing until Monday.

    “We’re in a cold pattern, so we’re not going to see our temperatures rise into the mid 30s or anything too soon,” said Teri Egger, a meteorologist with the National Weather Service in Ashwaubenon. “This snow will be sticking around probably for the next five to six days.”

    The 17.8 inches of snow over two days make it the third-largest snowstorm in Green Bay’s history. It only trails snowstorms in 1888 and 1889.

Leave a Reply

