Now I know my ABCs, next time won’t you sing with me?

Marathon Training and my week leading up to the marathon (and race itself) from A to Z…

A

  • Alright, here we go again   –  training
  • Anxiety  –  marathon

  • Blisters & Bee-yotch (as in Mother Nature is a…) – training
  • Bodily functions (trying to minimize the # that occur without my control) – marathon

  • Cold  – training
  • Carb load – marathon

D

  • Date Night (every Friday w/ my hubby, loved it) – training
  • Doubts – marathon

E

  • Energy (I needed a lot of it for the 4-5 months) – training
  • Exercise (just need to tell myself it’s any other day of exercise) – marathon

  • Friends (love training with them) – training
  • Freaking out! – marathon

G

  • Gotta run (blog sign off) – training
  • Gu/Garmin – marathon

H

  • Happy hours, I’ve missed many while training – training
  • Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate – marathon

I

  • Imodium  – training
  • Imminent doom, perhaps? – marathon

J    

  • January through April – training
  • Jack & Alice; who I’m running this race for – marathon

K

  • Knee pain – training
  • Knowing what could go wrong, is not helping! – marathon

  • Long runs – training
  • Lying to myself, often – marathon

M

  • Movie night (see date night above) – training
  • Maps (course map, parking map, etc.) – marathon

N

  • No free-time for 4-5 months – training
  • Nerves – marathon

O

  • Oh-no you di’nt (what I say to the cars that almost hit me!) – training
  • OH NO, I’m not ready! – marathon

  • Plantar fasciitis – training
  • Puke (the urge will be unbearable race morning) – marathon

Q

  • Quiet time  (too much time alone in my head) – training
  • Quitting running (need I say more) – marathon

R

  • Runner’s Knee  – training
  • Runner’s Trots – hopefully not (that rhymes!) – marathon

S    

  • Snow/sleet/storms (ran in all 3) – training
  • Spit up (seriously could spit up in my mouth now already) – marathon

T   

  • Tired, oh so tired – training
  • Tears, hopefully of joy, not pain – marathon

U   

  • Unfortunate pains, strains & gains – training 
  • Unbelievable – that this is #3! – marathon

V    

  • Vicious (how I reacted to cars that almost hit me) – training           
  • Very – as in how nervous I am! – marathon

W

  • Weight gain (AGAIN!) – training
  • Weather.com (I’m OCD with checking it) – marathon

X    

  • X-treme  (training weather conditions (AGAIN!) – training
  • X-tra special this marathon will be running w/ hubby AND friends – marathon

Y

  • You’re kidding?! (what husband said when I told him I want to do another marathon) – training
  • Yes, it was worth it (hoping this is what I say when I cross the finish line) – marathon

Z   

  • Zen – the type runner I wish I was –  training
  • Zealous – how I’ll feel after the race if it goes well – marathon

Until next time… gotta run

Leave a Reply

