Deja Vu

See if any of this sounds familiar.  I trained, I ran, I did horribly, I said I wouldn’t do it again and yes, a few months later I do it all over again.

No this isn’t deja vu.  You are correct, I did exactly that, TWICE!  But here I am again, about to embark on yet another marathon journey.  Or as I like to call it, “when the hell will I learn”?

But hopefully this time it will be different. I’m no mathematician but the odds, I would think, would be in my favor.  At some point I must run a good marathon.  Right?  Well, I guess that’s yet to be determined.  But I do know a few things that are different this time.

  • We’re doing marathon training in back-to-back years.  Our pattern had been to do a full marathon every other year.  But what the hell, why not try this whole back-to-back thing and see how it works.
  • We are PLANNING on doing a spring AND fall marathon.  Cross your fingers. I have big plans to run a fun and fabulous fall marathon.  I don’t want to jinx it so I won’t say anything more about it just yet.
  • I was injured prior to the start of training so I finally took some time off from running.  I haven’t taken time off of running since I started running back in 2004.  I haven’t run a step in the past month and since the beginning of November I’ve only run 4 times.  This could make starting back into training either really difficult or really energizing.  Jury is still out on this one.
  • I’m going to try to run this season for fun.  I really have never run for fun.  I’m not even entirely sure it’s possible.  I keep hearing people talk about this “run for fun” thing that has eluded me all of these years.  I’m hoping to prove it exists and isn’t just a myth like Big Foot.  I’m going into this training believing it’s real, that it exists and isn’t just be a tall redneck walking around in a rented monkey suit.

Training starts tonight, which will be my first run in quite some time.  It’s also my first chance at making this fun.  I’m just not sure how to do that.  Any suggestions would be helpful.

Until next time,

Gotta Run!

Leave a Reply

