Apple Cider Vinegar – The Devil’s brew

I’m not sure if any of you are proponents for Apple Cider Vinegar, but I have to say, I hate it.  I have friends who swear by its positives effects.  Celebrities, such as Fergie, have gotten on the bandwagon too.  I must tell you, I don’t get it.  I did a quick Google search for Apple Cider Vinegar and found many articles touting its many uses/benefits.  Here is just a tiny excerpt from one article.

++++

HEALTH:

Weight-Loss: For daily weight and pH balance maintenance, add 2 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar to 16 oz of water. Sip this concoction throughout the day.

Detox: Add 2 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to a 1 or 2 liter filtered water bottle. Drink this throughout the day to cleanse your body and kidneys all day long.

HOME AND PETS

Cleaning: Mix 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar with 1 cup water. You can use this concoction to clean microwaves, bathroom tiles, kitchen surfaces, windows, glasses and mirrors. This mixture also works as a disinfectant.

Flea Reduction: Rub apple cider vinegar onto your pet’s skin. Add a little bit of apple cider vinegar to their water. Spray apple cider vinegar, diluted 50 percent with water, onto your pets and onto your furniture to repel the presence of fleas.

++++

Does anyone else see what’s wrong with this product?  Tell me I’m not the only one concerned that I’m drinking something that can be used to clean my bathroom tile and get rid of my dog’s fleas.  Seriously!?!?!

For health purposes, which is my sole reason for subjecting myself to this concoction says to dilute the vinegar in water and sip on it throughout the day.  I tried that and all that does is make my nice drinking water taste like crap and makes me not want to drink it.  It prolongs the nastiness.  So I’ve decided to just bite the built and get it over with and do a shot of it each morning.  I figured the pain would be over with quickly and I could move on with my day. I also figured I have been known to have downed MANY a nasty tasting shot in my day.  If I can do shots of Southern Jubilee, cheap tequila, straight gin, Knob Creek and the stuff I inhaled in high school, which consisted of a little bit of EVERY bottle of booze my friends could sneak out of their parents’ liquor cabinets and mixing it all together, I could surely do a shot of Apple Cider Vinegar.   BUT, I have to say, this stuff is truly HORRIBLE.  I don’t think I’ve ever drank anything with such a nasty taste and something that I can feel sitting in my stomach.  The after-taste lingers and truly disturbs my taste buds for far too long after the shot is gone.  And now just the smell of it when I unscrew the cap in the morning makes me want to gag just a little bit.

So, I’m assuming I’ve painted one helluva pretty picture of this beverage.  And I’m guessing I’ve just shot to hell my chances of getting any of you ACV virgins to now try it.  But I really want to know what you all think.  Is it as bad as I say or have I just become too much of a pussy since I stopped doing alcohol shots on a regular basis?

So please, if you have any history with ACV or if you try it in the future, please let me know what you think.  And in the mean time, I’m still going to be choking down my 1 shot a day in the hopes that I will eventually start looking like Fergie!

Until next time,

Gotta run.

 

Leave a Reply

