Good & bad to a small marathon

Two days until the marathon.  I’m pretty distracted, I’m starting to stress about what to pack and my hidden OCD tendencies are starting to break through the surface (side note:  speaking of OCD tendencies even after being married for 12 years and together for 18 years I can still surprise my hubby.  He learned for the first time that I have a weird thing with our utensils.  I will only use certain forks for certain meals at home.  We have a drawer full of silverware and I’ll only use a few select pieces.  He apparently did not know this about me.  And apparently this random thought is another example of how easily distracted I am today.) and I’m even a bit nauseous.  Which means, everything is normal heading into race weekend.

The weather shows rain for Sunday.  Which is kind of appealing to me.  I don’t mind running in the rain and it’s a helluva lot better than running in hot or even moderate temperatures.  However, the forecast shows chances of storms and this has me a bit concerned.  Obviously they won’t run the race if there’s a thunderstorm in the area.  And not running is not an option for me at this point.  So me and Mother Nature will have to come up with some sort of agreement for Sunday.  Maybe if she keeps the storms away I’ll stop bitching about her in every other post.

Someone asked me how many people are running on Sunday and I didn’t know.  So I checked out the results from last year and just over 300 people ran the 2011 full marathon and just over a 1,000 people ran the Half.  Wow, I didn’t realize it was such a small event.  Our local training runs have been averaging 400 people so for an official race, this seems small.  So there’s a good chance we’ll be running on our own for the last half of the race because there probably won’t be too many other runners around us.

The good news to it being small and intimate is that it may feel more like a training run to me and not a marathon which mentally may be what I need to not freak out.

The bad news with running by ourselves is that there’s no one else to distract us and/or occupy our time with by creating fun critiques on their running outfits.

The good news with few people running is that there will probably be fewer people who I have to fight for a porta potty while out on the course.

Bad news is with fewer people running the marathon, it is more likely my slow-ass will be at the back of the pack and possibly finishing near the end.

Good news with us being at the end and all alone is that we’re easier to spot for our family and friends as spectators.

Bad news is that we have no family and friends coming to this race.

Good news is that we can chit-chat about anything we want while we’re running and we don’t have to worry about other runners overhearing us. Because truth be told, some of the bodily function/fluid conversations my group as had, should not be over heard by strangers that don’t know us!

Bad news is that we have a 3+ hour drive to get to Eau Claire and after 3 hours in the car, we might be all out of interesting conversation (but last year, I made sure to hold back some good conversation until the race. Literally whenever anyone started what seemed like a good or long story, I’d say “hold that for the race!”)

So, while I could go on and on with good and bad points about Sunday’s race, I am once again distracted and need to wrap this up.  I’m not sure if I’ll be writing another post or not before the race (depends on how distracted I am this afternoon).  So you may or may not hear from me until after the marathon.  So if my next post is after the marathon, here’s hoping my post-race recap won’t be about the Bad News Bears and instead will be detailing the good times that were had by all.

Until next time,

Gotta run –26.2 miles to be exact!

Leave a Reply

