Share the road

This is a special message dedicated to all drivers out there:

I’m sorry.  I’m sorry that I come from a family that’s health history has a long line of high cholesterol and heart attacks.  I’m sorry that my genetics has led me to a future full of a multitude of heart conditions if I don’t take care of it. I’m sorry that I choose to be proactive in my health and that I choose to not be a victim and instead do something about it.  I’m sorry that I choose to run to keep my cholesterol, blood pressure and weight in check.

And I’m sorry that 99% of the neighborhoods near my home don’t have sidewalks to run on so I must run on the side of the road.  And I’m also sorry that when my neighbors or the city fail to properly remove the snow and ice from the few sidewalks that do exist that it turns to complete ice and I still choose to run on the streets.  And I’m sorry that you’re a distracted driver and you don’t see me until you are almost running me over and you have to swerve to miss me.  Really, I’m sorry.  It must be horrible for you.  I’m sorry you were driving way to fast for conditions and came within inches of hitting me.  What was I thinking?  I’m sorry!

Oh wait a minute… no I’m NOT SORRY!  I’m amazed how almost being run over by a 2 ton vehicle driving erratically is MY fault!  I’m amazed at how my trying to be healthy and in turn keeping my health costs in check (and that in a way helps everyone else by not having to increase group premiums or raise rates for procedures, etc.) is so horrible for the drivers I share a road with.  I pay taxes on these streets too.   I’m an extremely conscientious runner and stay to the side, wear bright/visible clothing, don’t dart through intersections in front of cars and I run against traffic.  So, please give me a break.  Instead of giving me dirty looks or splashing me with slush, I prefer you to lace up your shoes and come take a run with me.  Until, then how about you try not to run me over and just say “thank you”.  Thank you for not being a burden on an overly taxed health care system.

Until next time,

Gotta run (on the side of the road)

 

Leave a Reply

