Forgive me

Forgive me readers for I have sinned.  Okay, not really.  But I did break a Runner’s Commandment – the first one nonetheless.  I broke “Thou shall not compare thyself to other runners”.   Actually I have a tendency to break this one often.  But unfortunately I’m not just comparing myself to other runners, I’m comparing myself to my friends.  As the title of my blog, “The View From the Back of the Pack” would imply, I am not a fast runner.  There has been one or two races where I have finished only slightly ahead of the walkers.  And when it’s time to line up for a corral start, I keep walking to find my spot in one of the last corrals.  I try to stand on my tip toes and sneak a peek through the thousands of runners to see the start line, but often times I’m so far in the back, I can’t see the start line or hear the starting gun.

Tomorrow I’m volunteering for a local race and I’m volunteering at the start, specifically the first corral.  That’s the only time I ever get to see the first corral or the people who get to toe the line upfront.  To me, the first corral is for Kenyans and freaks of nature.  But in reality, it is also home to some of my friends.  I have a friend who I’ve run with for years, who recently started running on her own (aka, isn’t slowing down to run with me at my pace) and is lining up in the first corral tomorrow.  My husband is pretty damn quick too.  He has won age group awards and last year he participated in the National Triathlon Championships having qualified for the honor without even trying.

Besides my friends being fast, I have others who have competed some pretty impressive ultras.  From 50K to 50 miles, I have more than one friend who have done both of those distances.  And I’m not talking 2nd or 3rd tier friends that I keep in contact with only through Christmas cards.  No, I’m talking about my best friends – the inner circle.

So, I ask you… what the hell?  Why are my friends (and husband) all so freaking good?  And why am I not?  I know I’m not supposed to compare myself to my friends or to other runners, but come on… it gets a little hard to stay motivated when everyone is doing some pretty cool stuff and I am not.

So, to make myself feel better, I’m wondering what Runner Commandments you break?  It doesn’t have to be often, but if you’ve broken a commandment or two, please share, I’d love to know I’m not the only one failing miserably at living up to these standards!

Until next time,

Gotta run

Ten Commandments

Ten Commandments

Leave a Reply

