I’m at mile 23 in my detox

I’m now in day three of my detox.  First, I have to say that I am SO FREAKING THANKFUL that I didn’t choose a 7-day detox.  I would not have survived.  Second, I have to say it’s not necessarily the lack of food that his getting to me as much as I HATE the drinks I have to drink.  The breakfast smoothie is good; I would actually voluntarily drink that again.  But my lunch and dinner are horrible.  Lunch is actually hell in a bottle.  Dinner is only slightly better than lunch.  I can’t even stand the smell of these any longer.  And both lunch and dinner are about 28 ounces, or two pint glasses of hell.  I can barely get down one, so there’s no way I could drink two so I’ve skipped the second glass.  That means I’m even that much more hungry.  And I’m weak too.  It’s as if I had been sick for a few days… no energy and a bit weak and tired.  This is probably due to a lack of calories and a lack of my beloved coffee.

I had looked forward to day-3, thinking that it would be all down hill from here because I have less than 24 hours left. Easy Peasy!  But this is not the case.  It’s like when you’re running a marathon and all you can think about is getting to mile 23 because you only have a 5K left to run and it will be… easy peasy.  But when you finally get to mile 23 and it’s not easy and it’s also not peasy, it still hurts, it still sucks and all you want to do is quit.  This is where I’m at right now.  I’m at mile 23 and it sucks.

And what I have going against me today is the fact that I have NO meetings scheduled for today to distract me.  The first few days I had a couple of meetings that took a good chunk of my time and got me away from my desk.  But today I get to sit here and think… think about food and how much I miss it.

One tiny silver lining in all of this is that I now won’t feel so deprived when I go back to my normal Weight Watchers diet.  That’s going to be like a lavish feast.  Instead of feeling as if I’ve deprived myself, I’m going to feel as if my meals are now the most decadent things I’ve ever tasted.  Oatmeal and an orange for breakfast… my oh my, what have I done to deserve this?  Garden salad with fat-free, calorie-free dressing for lunch – YES PLEASE!!  And a plain chicken breast and cauliflower for dinner, no-no please stop, you are spoiling me!

So here’s being at mile 23 and pushing through because the act of quitting will be far worse than suffering through the day.  I plan on going to bed early (so I don’t have to think about food and listen to my stomach rumble) and sleeping until I reach the finish line at 12:00am Thursday morning.  I may even set my alarm for 12:01am and celebrate with coffee and a quick bite to eat!!

Until next time,

Gotta run

One response to “I’m at mile 23 in my detox

Leave a Reply

