A hug is worth a thousand tears

My last long training weekend is fast approaching.  This Saturday I will run 38 miles – my longest run to date – and on Sunday I will run 12.  It will be my second 50 mile weekend and my last big weekend prior to the Fall 50.  I’m extremely anxious about this weekend, even though it’s only 5 more miles than what I’ve averaged on my last few long runs.  I won’t bore you with all of my anxiety issues, but let’s just say, there are many.

Leading up to such a big weekend, I wanted to get my leg dry needled again because it’s been very tight and sore lately.  I was able to get into see my therapist for a session yesterday and it helped my leg a bit, but it also helped my emotionally too.  While I was being dry needled, my therapist was asking me questions about my training and the race itself.  I’ve been working with the same person for a few months, so she knows my end goal but was very interested in the details.

She was very impressed at how supportive my husband is with my training.  I told her that she had no idea the lengths Brian has gone to with his support. I described how he crews for me and that he leap frogs me in the car, parks, gets on his bike and rides back until he finds me.  Then he bikes alongside of me until we reach the car.  He puts the bike back on the car, drives ahead of me, parks the car and starts the process all over again.  And he does this for 6, 7, 9 hours!  Her quote… “that’s real love”!

She also asked me for the exact date of my race and I told her 10/24.  She wrote it down because she wants to make sure she “thinks” about me that day.  Seriously, how sweet is that?  I’ll take all the thinking and positive vibes I can get.

When I was done with my session, she said she didn’t know if she’d see me again before the race and wished me good luck.  She also gave me a big hug to go along with her well-wishes.  While I’m not normally a hugger, this hug was extremely welcome.  I didn’t realize how much I needed it.  I’ve trained for so long, and had this goal in my head for years that I forget what others think of it.  I also have a lot of friends who’ve done crazy endurance events so it’s easy for me to downplay my running the Fall 50 because others have done it too and many have done or are doing bigger and badder events.  So it was really kind of cool to have my race acknowledged as a big deal by my therapist.  And as I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m quite hormonal and it took all of my will power not to cry when she hugged me.  I also knew that if I did start crying, I wouldn’t have stopped so it was best for me to control my very raw emotions.

I’ve got 24 days until the race.  If a simple hug from my therapist can damn near bring me to tears, it’s going to a crazy countdown to the race!

Until next time,

Gotta Run

#toostubborntoquit #doepicshit

One response to “A hug is worth a thousand tears

Leave a Reply

