If you’re going through tough times, keep on going

A few weeks ago my coach asked me what I’m going to do to get through the Fall 50.  He was specifically asking me how I plan to pull myself through the day if it’s tough or if I’m having a bad day.  I told him, “I don’t know, I guess I’ll just keep going”.  What I didn’t tell him, was that I knew exactly what I’ll do, it’s what I do for every hard race or training run.  I tell myself that this is just physical discomfort and that it’s so minor to other things I’ve been through in life.  I’ve lost jobs and I’ve lost both of my parents… those are things that are truly hard.  And if I found a way to get through that pain, then a simple run, wouldn’t be enough to take me down.

Getting through the Fall 50 has been on my mind nonstop since I started tapering.  It’s really going to happen and I really will have to get through the pain.  This is what keeps me up at night and what preoccupies my time.  I wish I could enjoy the taper and enjoy what I’ve accomplished so far during my training, but the damn taper demons make that damn near impossible.

So while I am trying hard not to vomit today from nerves (seriously, I feel like I could puke), I have to remind myself…. I’ve gotten through much worse things.  This is a simple walk in the park, albeit a 50-mile walk, but a walk/run nonetheless.   It’s nothing compared to things I’ve dealt with in the past.  So while Saturday may be tough at times, I just have to remember… I’m tougher!  And this time I at least get a poster or two to help me through!

Until next time,

Gotta run

#toostubborntoquit #doepicshit

2 responses to “If you’re going through tough times, keep on going

Leave a Reply

