Can I taper if I didn’t actually train?

I saw a Facebook post from the Chicago Triathlon asking if everyone is ready to start tapering.

Uh?!

I guess it is about that time.  But considering I never actually started “training”, I never thought about tapering.  I’ve been too busy learning how not to drown and trying to limit the number of times I fall off of my bike (and get poison ivy) that I never actually started a training schedule.

I sure hope that doesn’t come to bite me in the ass.

But considering the way this whole thing has been going –  aka:  not actually being able to swim until 2 months ago, crashing my bike and getting poison ivy AND hives and dealing with shin splints on my runs – I don’t really know when I would have been able to slip in real and actual training into my schedule.

Lord help me because – I, the girl who lives by schedules, routines and plans – didn’t follow a plan for my first triathlon.  This could be really interesting.

Oh well, this whole thing has been a comedy of errors from the start so why do things the right way now?  Screw the taper…. I’m going full force right up to race day.  Which really just means I’ll continue to try to not drown or fall of my bike!

Until next time,

Gotta run (and swim and bike)

 

One response to “Can I taper if I didn’t actually train?

Leave a Reply

